Business sectors

METIS combines legal and industrial expertise. We know our clients’ business and help them to maneuver with legal certainty and to withstand competition in constantly changing markets.

In our core areas of work, we regularly advise on M&A activities, restructurings, financings, sales systems, personnel matters and judicial and extra-judicial disputes.

Automobile

The automobile sector is currently in a phase of radical transformation. New technologies and market participants are changing the established value creation chains, and costs and consolidation pressure in the supply industry is continuously rising, particularly for mid-sized enterprises.

METIS regularly advises manufacturers and mid-sized automobile supply companies across all practice groups.

Banking and financial

METIS regularly advises banks and other financial industry ventures in transactions, financings, daily business and corporate and employment law. In addition, we advise on an ongoing basis on questions of compliance and data protection. We also assist foreign financial service providers in establishing themselves in Germany and commencing operations.

Aviation

METIS advises clients from many areas of the aviation sector, including airlines, airport operators and airport service providers. Our areas of focus are licensing matters, M&A activities and disputes. Our clients value our extensive experience and our international network.

Chemicals

The market environment for chemicals companies is shaped by new technologies, international raw materials markets, global supply chains and a constantly shifting regulatory environment.

For a long time, METIS has advised clients in the chemicals industry both in Germany and abroad.

In addition to M&A activities and the legal certainty in the conduct of sales and working relationships, we focus on sector-specific themes such as for example compliance with REACH and dual-use requirements.

Technology/Internet

The innovative potential of Internet companies continues to rise. Established players as well as startups continue to enter more and more new sectors, and business angels and venture capital funds continue to seek promising participation opportunities.

METIS advises companies starting from the seed phase across the whole development cycle, and advises both on the company side as well as on the investor side in financing rounds, acquisitions and disposals.

Family businesses and private clients

We advise family businesses and entrepreneurial families on the transfer and reorganization of companies and shareholder disputes (and the avoidance thereof). We assist our clients with the acquisition and disposal of companies, financings and joint ventures. Entrepreneurs and families also entrust us with questions of asset structuring. We also advise owner-run businesses in all practice areas on an ongoing basis.

Energy

The liberalization of the electricity market and public subsidies for renewable energies in the course of the turnaround in energy policy have had far-reaching consequences for the energy industry. The changes in the regulatory regime mean that numerous newcomers to the market have emerged.

For years, METIS has been advising project developers, plant operators, investors and public utilities. A key element of our offering is assistance with projects for the construction, operation, sale and purchase of plants for the use of renewable energies (wind turbines/parks, solar plants/parks, biogas plants).

Branchen

METIS verbindet juristische und industrielle Expertise. Wir kennen das Geschäft unserer Mandanten und unterstützen sie dabei, sich in ständig weiterentwickelnden Märkten rechtssicher zu bewegen und im Wettbewerb zu behaupten. In unseren Schwerpunktbranchen beraten wir regelmäßig zu M&A-Aktivitäten, Umstrukturierungen, Finanzierungen, Vertriebssystemen, Personalangelegenheiten und gerichtlichen sowie außergerichtlichen Streitigkeiten.

Automobil

Der Automobilsektor befindet sich in einer tiefgreifenden Umbruchphase. Neue Technologien und Marktteilnehmer verändern die etablierten Wertschöpfungsketten. Der Kosten- und Konsolidierungsdruck in der Zulieferindustrie nimmt ständig zu. METIS berät mit sämtlichen Praxisgruppen regelmäßig Hersteller und mittelständische Automobilzulieferunternehmen.

Banken und Finanzwirtschaft

METIS berät Banken und andere Unternehmen der Finanzwirtschaft bei Transaktionen, Finanzierungen, im Tagesgeschäft sowie zum Gesellschafts- und Arbeitsrecht. Daneben sind wir laufend mit Fragen der Compliance und dem Datenschutz befasst. Ausländische Finanzdienstleister unterstützen wir bei der Ansiedlung und Geschäftsaufnahme in Deutschland.

Luftfahrt

METIS berät Mandanten aus vielen Bereichen der Luftfahrtbranche, darunter Airlines, Flughafenbetreiber und Flughafendienstleister. Schwerpunkte unserer Tätigkeit sind Fragen der Lizenzvergabe, M&A-Aktivitäten und Rechtsstreitigkeiten. Unsere Mandanten schätzen unsere langjährige Erfahrung und unser internationales Netzwerk.

Chemie

Das Marktumfeld für Chemieunternehmen wird geprägt durch neue Technologien, internationale Rohstoffmärkte, globale Lieferwege und einen ständig wachsenden Regulierungsgrad. METIS berät seit langem Mandanten aus der chemischen Industrie im In- und Ausland. Neben M&A-Aktivitäten und der rechtssicheren Gestaltung der Vertriebs- und Arbeitsbeziehungen stehen branchenspezifische Themen wie beispielsweise Compliance mit REACH- und Dual-Use-Bestimmungen im Fokus.

Technologie/Internet

Das Innovationspotential von Internetunternehmen ist ungebrochen. Etablierte Player und Start-ups stoßen in immer neue Branchen vor. Business Angels und Venture Capital Funds suchen nach vielversprechenden Beteiligungsmöglichkeiten. METIS begleitet Unternehmen von der Seed-Phase an über den gesamten Entwicklungszyklus und berät sowohl auf Unternehmens- als auch auf Investorenseite bei Finanzierungsrunden, Zukäufen und Verkäufen.

Familienunternehmen und Private Clients

Wir beraten Familienunternehmen und Unternehmerfamilien bei der Übergabe und Neuorganisation von Unternehmen, Gesellschafterstreitigkeiten und deren Vermeidung. Wir unterstützen unsere Mandanten bei Unternehmenskäufen und -verkäufen, Finanzierungen und Joint Ventures. Unternehmer und Familien betrauen uns mit Fragen der Strukturierung ihres Vermögens und Nachfolgefragen. Zudem beraten wir laufend inhabergeführte Unternehmen.

Energiewirtschaft

Die Liberalisierung des Strommarktes und die staatliche Förderung erneuerbarer Energien im Zuge der Energiewende haben zu gravierenden Umbrüchen in der Energiewirtschaft geführt. Aufgrund des veränderten regulatorischen Umfelds sind zahlreiche neue Marktteilnehmer hinzugekommen. METIS berät seit Jahren Projektentwickler, Anlagenbetreiber und Investoren und Stadtwerke. Schwerpunkte unserer Beratungstätigkeit sind die Begleitung von Projekten zur Errichtung, dem Betrieb sowie Kauf und Verkauf von Anlagen zur Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien (Windkraftanlagen/-parks, Solaranlagen/-parks, Biogasanlagen).